New Year, New Start, New Outlook

Firstly, I would like to apologise for the lack of posts here in the last week or so. Secondly, HAPPY NEW YEAR!

I am spending the night in an Irish club, which is sure to bring plenty of drinking, dancing and laughs. I’m taking it as a celebration of the progress this year, and a way to thank everyone who has helped me! (Buying many rounds of drinks is a perfect way to say thanks 😀 ). To all those that have shown their support online, anytime you are in the Bedfordshire, UK area I will take you out to say a special thank you 🙂

Due to memory problems, I cannot actually remember any of the year apart from the last week. I can remember events – but I have no idea which month they happened in, nor if they were even in 2006.. but hey, I won’t remember tonight tomorrow so all is well 😉

I have taken my qualms regarding psychotherapy to the Patient Advice and Liaison Service, so fingers crossed for that. On Wednesday, I will be receiving my complete and entire notes from The Priory North London, which will make for both interesting and emotionally-hard reading, but it must be done. I may post snippets I find here 🙂

To end, I wish each and every one of you best wishes for 2007 and sincerely hope you enjoy tonight!

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to this post.

  1. Happy new year, Matt! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by sarahtowny on January 1, 2007 at 1:50 pm

    Happy New Year to you to. I did enjoy last night, mmm a little too much I think! :0)

    Reply

  3. I have taken my qualms regarding psychotherapy to the Patient Advice and Liaison Service, so fingers crossed for that.

    Many individuals have found psychotherapy to be helpful but unattainable for various reasons; they may not be able to afford it or if they do, they can’t find a caregiver they mesh well with. However, not all is lost — some of the most innovative and skilled minds in psychiatry have written books that can help provide you with insights into your own experience. For example, you may find the book “Models of Madness” by John Read to be informative. Here’s a brief intro…

    TONY EASTLEY: A New Zealand academic has stirred up a controversy by suggesting in his just published book that schizophrenia is not an illness.

    Dr John Read, the director of Clinical Psychology at Auckland University, says the anxieties or delusions of sufferers are actually caused by past traumas such as sexual abuse.

    And he says drug companies are taking advantage, by pushing the idea that schizophrenia is an illness that must be treated with medication.

    […]

    JOHN READ: We have this overly medicalised view where if you hear voices, or you think the CIA is out to get you, then you immediately apply this scientific sounding word “schizophrenia” and think you know what’s going on, whereas in fact you know nothing.

    You have to trace back, with the person, where the voices started, what the voices are saying. Very often, the voice is the voice of someone who has done something quite horrendous to that person in the past, such as child abuse or rape.

    And trying to suppress those voices chemically is not a helpful thing to do when the person needs an opportunity to talk with somebody about what has happened to them and what those voices mean.

    Read more: http://spiritualrecoveries.blogspot.com/2006/05/dr-john-read-models-of-madness.html

    Speaking personally, I have found the work of clinicians such as John Weir Perry, Maureen Roberts, Stanislav Grof, David Lukoff, R.D. Laing, Loren Mosher and numerous others to be incredibly helpful. You can find a collection of links related to schizophrenia and recovery at my second blog – Spiritual Recovery: http://spiritualrecoveries.blogspot.com

    Reply

  4. To Diana and Sarah – many thanks! Same to you two too 🙂

    spiritual_emergency – Thank you VERY much for that information. I will be posting in a few minutes on developments and thoughts in recent days, but your post is most helpful.

    I have read R.D. Laing ‘The Divided Self’ (which sadly I cannot find now I want to read it again!) and found myself agreeing on many, if not all, of the ideas and points raised.

    Thanks once again, I will also check out your blog 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

