Cognitive Dissonance

I just got to thinking about the cognitive dissonance in us ‘mentals’. I think that the CD in each individual will have different criteria and different perspectives but I would like to focus on one perspective I struggle with quite a bit.

Just to make sure we’re all on the same hymn sheet:

cognitive dissonance

–noun Psychology.

anxiety that results from simultaneously holding contradictory or otherwise incompatible attitudes, beliefs, or the like, as when one likes a person but disapproves strongly of one of his or her habits.

My major ‘mind contradiction’ is between voices trying to conduct my actions and words, and my moral-based, human compassion. To explain further, the ‘voices’ often instruct me to bring some kind of emotional (never physical.. probably because the ‘voices’ know I won’t ever do that) pain, and me as a person would never purposefully cause that.

And so the battle of the thoughts begins. This starts to bring a cycle of worry, because the past has told me worrying never helps. So I’m worrying that I’m worrying. The cycle goes round until I either collapse from mental exhaustion, or scream so loud I forget what is happening.

I wasn’t tought much about Cognitive Dissonance in CBT, even though I can see I experience a lot of it. Does anyone have any ideas, thoughts or ‘solutions’ to thought contradiction? Please do use the comments system =)

One response to this post.

  1. I don’t, but Sly Civilian might, if he has time. http://slycivilian.com/
    God bless you for your reply on Thinking Girl’s blog. I’m not quite sure I understand what you’re not quite sure you have ever seen the words for, but I have at least a glimmer thanks to your attempt to put into words what your grandfather felt when you were younger and what he permanently started feeling when you confronted him as an older person. Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

