My Approach, My Story, and this blog.

After a well-put, honest and correct observation of my “what is schizophrenia?” page by someone called jase, I would like to explain a few things, set a few boundaries for myself, and ask for some opinions and feedback on where I should take this blog.

I am a 17 year old diagnosed with schizophrenia 3 years ago. I am just now, after several hospital admissions and putting those around me through hell, coming to terms with my situation and looking for positive ways to move forward.

The way I (admittedly very quickly, and without thinking) wrote the page on this blog was entirely stupid, ignorant, and unfair of me. I can only hope jase can forgive me for this, and I welcome him/her to comment on this post with how I can improve.

I should have seen the wider picture, and been more considerate. The only thing I felt offended by was the opening statement concerning my spelling, but I understand that it may have caused anger in jase and thus will not take issue with this.

Specifically the “causes” part of the page, was very narrow-minded of me. They were what I see my “causes” to be, and I should have concidered what others would have felt reading it, or have omitted the section entirely.

I now appeal to the audience of this blog, to make suggestions on it’s content and the context and appearance of that content. How honest should I be? Should this blog be about my day-to-day experiences?

I leave the comments system open to you all, and apologise once again to jase.

Kindest wishes to all,

Matt

technorati tags:, , , ,

4 responses to this post.

  1. Matt, I have got to say that I am really impressed and I really appreciate your candor and strength in sharing your personal experiences with Schizophrenia. What is particularly nice about sharing personal experiences is that there is no way to be mistaken. The way that you feel, the things that you experience-those are yours and no one else’s interpretation of events is any more accurate than yours. That kind of clarity (that you are sharing by telling us about how YOU experience Schizophrenia) is the absolute best content anyone could hope for!

    I apologize for the harsh tone of my first comment–it wasn’t until after I had submitted my comment that I realized you had created the blog that very same day — I was overreacting and I admire the fact that you were able to turn my harsh comments into a genuine work of inspired art.

    Please know that you owe me no apology and that I look forward to becoming a regular reader of your blog. You are eloquent beyond compare (at first I was going to say for someone your age, but to be honest, you are eloquent for any age).

    I hope to talk with you more and I wish you the best of luck. I do have faith that people suffering from mental illness can benefit greatly from sharing their insights and experiences and you are doing a great job of reaching out, risking prejudice, and blazing the path for some really amazing progress in this area. Keep up the good work.

    jase

    Reply

  2. Firstly, thank you very much for replying. I was worried I had upset you enough to leave the blog!

    Your comments are well received and very much appreciated. It feels good to know that there are people out there with faith (not religious faith, but human faith). I will thus try to tell the world through this blog about my experiences, and hope that they help someone in someway.

    Thank you for the eloquent comment! That is a very nice thing to say.

    Hope to talk with you more too, enjoy the blog – you are a very welcome reader. Take care and all the best!

    Matt

    Reply

  3. […] A few months ago, I posted about my approach to this blog. I have been thinking, and I believe I should be separating the two types of content involved in this blog. […]

    Reply

  4. Posted by AnferTuto on July 28, 2007 at 5:05 pm

    Hola faretaste
    mekodinosad

    Reply

Leave a Reply

